RSS Feed

2nd Manassas/Groveton

Posted on

Hike Summary

Today I’ve been restless, trying to find something to occupy me. My routine is unsettled, and I can’t satisfactorily settle on something, so I will write about yesterday’s hike (which I was planning on doing anyway.)


So the weather had been forecast to be hot all this week, but when I woke up, everything was nice and cool, and I figured that if I got going early, I’d beat the worst of the heat of the day. I was mostly right, although I wasn’t 100% prepared for an almost 7 mile hike (despite knowing the length beforehand.) I did pretty well, all things considered.

Although I spent a lot of my youth doing bits of hiking on the slopes of Mt. Tamalpais, a lot of that was actually on horseback (naughtily, on trails meant for humans only) or short excursions. I was also a lot more in shape back then.

I’ve lost over 50 pounds since the beginning of the year, but I feel like I have so much more to go, and it frustrates me a little that my body isn’t totally cooperating.

It’s going to be the 150th anniversary of the battle of 2nd Manassas this month, and like last time, I spent time thinking about the battle as I walked. There’s a lot of road traffic through the park, I can only imagine the sounds that could be heard back in the day. Some 10,000 troops died during that 2nd battle.

That fact made me feel a little weird in a way, as I sat on a bench for a lunch break, munching on a trail bar. Was it disrespectful of me to be chewing away, on a spot where people died? Maybe the ghosts of the Union Soldiers were happy that, all this time later, there still is a whole country, and the Union was preserved. I’ll never know.

From a trail notes standpoint, I will note that I was a smidge disappointed in the lack of markers on this trail compared to the First Manassas Loop. I would have thought that with the anniversary coming up, some more care would be paid. I am glad I had my handy GPS unit with me, as the route provided by the HikingUpward guys was really helpful.

Some other things I learned:

Bring more water! I was hurting near the end, and so was my dog. Part of that was gulping down too much water at one point, I need to remember to ration it better.

Jeans are still soggy in hot weather, but I don’t want to spend money on new pants because of the weight I’ve been losing

Clif Builder bars become a sticky mess in the heat.

Pacing!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Prince William Forest Park | Walking out of Depression

Leave a Reply

