RSS Feed

Bull Run Occoquan Trail – Rt. 28 to Pope’s Head Creek

Posted on

Hike Summary

The lesson I learned this day is “be careful of biting off more than you can chew.”

I was somewhat surprised that it seemed a little difficult for me to find information about the trail and park online. Perhaps my googling was particularly weak, but I still couldn’t find either a map nor good directions to the Route 28 bridge.

I found it, of course, after some inspecting of maps. It was a beautiful day for a hike. The early morning clouds had burned off, leaving things warm, but not too warm. It had rained a bit over the previous few days, which left the water flowing, and occasionally some muddiness on the trail, but those things were pretty minor.

I had looked at the maps I could find, as well as the hiking guide that mentioned the trail (but only the full length, which is about 18 miles from Bull Run Park to Fountainhead Park,) and I thought that hiking from Route 28 to Hemlock Overlook park would be a long, but doable hike.

It was doable, but barely. I encountered, yet again, the drawbacks of less than accurate distances, and what I thought should have been a 7 or 8 mile hike was much longer by the time I was done. Even my 2 different GPSes (I track on my phone as well) disagreed as to the overall length.

I ended up turning around when I’d seen that I’d gone 5 miles.
The hike itself was very nice. I was disappointed at times that the trail didn’t stick as close to the river as I thought it would, but the little forays into the various stream and creek valleys were nice, and the little crossings over the creeks were entertaining not only for me, but for my hydrophobic dog.

The first time he encountered these stones, he wasn’t quite sure of them, and ended up fording the river. Soon enough though, he figured out that if he followed me across them, he wouldn’t get wet. It was rather comical to see him gingerly jump from one to the other as I waited for him. We also encountered a box turtle as we went along, as well as numerous birds (that I could hear but not often see) and plenty of deer.

I also encountered another “Pet Rock Pile.” I am unsure what the significance of these are, and a cursory googling didn’t yield much in the way of info.

These things leave me conflicted. One one hand, I appreciate the sentiment — so often with pets, there’s no real place to have a memorial to them. I have the ashes of one of my dearest cats sitting on my nightstand (as that’s where he liked to hang out,) but sometimes it feels like I should have had another place for him. So, I can understand how cairns are good memorials.

On the other hand, it encourages people to tear up the trail and move rocks around, and that can cause erosion, as well as add a man-made item to what we like to pretend is a natural, unspoiled setting.

It definitely wasn’t the only sign of human influence. I need to remind myself to pack along something to take away trash, as I often saw gum wrappers and other things along all of the trails I’ve been on. It does bother me sometimes that people that want to enjoy natural settings often don’t think of the impact that they’re leaving behind.

That being said, something I encountered near the turnaround point of my hike did touch me, and it was entirely human in nature.

There’s a point where the train goes over the Bull Run, so of course there’s a bridge. Underneath the bridge, even here in a (somewhat) isolated area, there was artful graffiti. I don’t know exactly why it touched me the way it did — but that is art. Art is what gives you that feeling you can’t quite put words to, and hiking around the bend, with the smells and sounds of the river and nature and seeing this, it gave me an electric thrill.

Leave a Reply

